(800) 849-2168

Virginia Medical License

Medicallicensing Team • 25 June 2024 (updated)

License Requirements

  • Medical School Verification and Transcripts
  • USMLE or COMLEX Scores
  • Postgraduate Training Verification
  • Background Check
  • Employment Verification
  • Medical Jurisprudence Exam (JP Exam)
  • Average Processing Time: 2-3 months

Training Requirements

  • Accepts FCVS
  • No attempt limit on USMLE
  • 1 year Postgraduate Training Required (Accredited by the ACGME or AOA)
  • 2 yeasr Postgraduate training for IMG

Board of Medicine Virginia

Virginia Medical License Application

Applying for a Virginia Medical License is a necessary step for healthcare professionals who wish to practice in the state. There are various choices available to help guide you through the licensure process, whether you are a physician assistant, nurse, or another healthcare worker.

If you recently applied for a VA Medical License, you may check the progress of your application on the Virginia Board of Medicine website.

Be sure to have your application number and other required information handy. If your application is comprehensive and well-documented, it will be completed within six weeks after submission.

If you meet the eligibility criteria, you can apply for a Virginia Medical License by endorsement. Find the endorsement application instructions on the Board of Medicine website and submit your application accordingly.

Another option for applying for a professional license in VA is through DHP Online Licensing. This online portal enables you to apply, renew, and manage your professional license efficiently. Before submitting your application, please read the guidelines and prerequisites.

Virginia Medical License Renewal Requirements

Virginia Physician Assistant License Renewal is required biennially during your birth month in each odd-numbered year. The renewal fee is $135.00.

You must complete at least 100 hours of CME in the 2-year renewal cycle. At least 60 of these 100 hours must be Category 1 CME credits, approved by organizations like the American Medical Association (AMA). You must also complete two hours of education in pain management, addiction, or other controlled substances.

Virginia Physician License Renewal is required biennially during your birth month in each even-numbered year. The renewal fee is $337.00.

Virginia Physician CME Requirements differ.  You should earn 60 CME credits every 2 years. The Virginia Board of Medicine website states that 30 of these credits must be in the American Medical Association (AMA) Physician’s Recognition Award (PRA) Category 1. Additionally, two of the 60 credits must be on controlled substances CME.

The Board of Medicine allows up to 60 CME credits to be carried over from one renewal cycle to the next, provided they were earned within the six months preceding the new renewal cycle’s start.

Virginia Telemedicine License

Healthcare providers who intend to perform telemedicine in VA must receive a license from the Board of Medicine.

Keep in mind, that VA law defines “telemedicine services” and excludes certain communication methods like audio-only telephone, electronic mail messages, facsimile transmissions, or online questionnaires. You must comply with the requirements set out in Virginia Code §§ 54.1-3408.01 and 54.1-3303(A).

Healthcare professionals who want to prescribe controlled substances in Schedule II through V via telemedicine must comply with federal rules for telemedicine practice.

Virginia Medical License Lookup

To verify a physician, nurse, or pharmacist’s license, visit the Virginia Department of Health Professions (DHP) license lookup page. This resource allows you to search for and verify a professional license by name, license number, or location. It’s a quick and convenient way to ensure a medical professional is licensed and in good standing.

Expedite Virginia Medical License

The application process typically takes between 60 and 105 days, but using the Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) may shorten the processing time. This service can help verify your credentials, potentially speeding up the application process. Another option to expedite the process is using third-party licensing services.

At MedicalLicensing.com, we offer comprehensive licensing assistance for healthcare professionals, including physicians, PAs, nurses, and other allied health professionals. We have experience working with the Board of Medicine and can assist speed up the licensing process by organizing application papers and ensuring that all essential documents are presented correctly and on time.

Virginia Medical Licensing Service

MedicalLicensing.com is an experienced and dependable agency that can help you with your VA medical license, no matter what your requirements are.

We understand how difficult it may be to navigate the licensing process, which is why we provide individualized assistance and guidance at each phase. Our simplified application procedure can save you both effort and time, and our expert team is constantly available to answer your inquiries.

Let MedicalLicensing.com help you achieve your professional goals with ease and confidence.

FAQ About Virginia Medical Licenure

  • How can I apply for a Virginia medical license?
    Fill out an application form and email it to the Board of Medicine to apply for a VA medical license. You will need to provide an account of professional activity within the last four years, including the approximate number of hours for each year.
  • How long does it take to obtain a medical license in Virginia?
    The application process for obtaining your Physician Medical License can take between 12-16 weeks depending on your credentials and practice history. Once all information has been received, the Medical Board will review your application in 30 days or less. The Board may ask for further information to explain extraordinary aspects, which will lengthen the process.
  • How to become a physician assistant in Virginia?
    To become a physician assistant, complete an accredited PA program recognized by AMA and ARC-PA, pass the PANCE exam, and apply for a PA license with the Board of Medicine.
  • What are the CME requirements for a Virginia medical license?
    The Board of Medicine requires all licensees to earn 60 CME Credits every two-year renewal cycle. Of the 60 CME earned, a minimum of 30 must be Category 1 CME Credits.
Still have questions? Do not hesitate to contact us

Ready to get started?

Stop hunting state medical board for answers and see how our team can help you:

Get licensed in any state stress-free
Ditch the paperwork and focus on your practice and family
Automate your license maintenance and renewal
Monitor your licensing and credentials in one secure place

Book your Free Consultation

State Requirements

Check out individual state requirements by clicking the links down below.