The process of applying for a medical license in Connecticut varies based on the profession. Here are the general requirements for physicians and nurses:
Physicians: Eligible applicants must have graduated from an accredited medical school, completed at least two years of progressive post-graduate residency training, and passed one of the accepted examinations.
Nurses: Eligible applicants must have:
Nurses licensed in another state that is part of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) may practice in CT without obtaining a separate license.
All applicants must also submit an online application and fee, official transcripts of medical education and examination scores, verification of post-graduate training and other state licenses, and a National Practitioner Data Bank query.
To apply for a physician assistant license in Connecticut, follow these steps:
Physicians and physician assistants must complete the online renewal application and pay the respective fees ($575.00 for physicians and $190.00 for PAs). They must also complete at least 50 hours of continuing medical education every two years, including at least one hour of training or education in each of the following topics: infectious diseases, risk management, sexual assault, domestic violence, cultural competency, and behavioral health. Physician assistants must also maintain their certification by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).
Nurses must complete the online renewal application and pay the renewal fee ($100.00 for registered nurses or $50.00 for licensed practical nurses). They must complete at least one contact hour of continuing education in each mandatory topic for nursing practice in CT every two years. These topics include infection control, risk management, pain management, sexual assault, domestic violence, cultural competency, substance abuse, mental health conditions common to veterans, veterans’ healthcare benefits, end-of-life issues, medical errors, human trafficking, child abuse recognition and reporting, elder abuse prevention and reporting, behavioral health, emotional intelligence, social determinants of health, implicit bias, structural racism, diversity, and inclusion.
All licenses should be renewed before the expiration date, which is the last day of the licensee’s birth month every two years. If a license isn’t renewed on time, additional fees may apply and the license must be restored within 90 days. After 90 days, the license becomes void, requiring a reinstatement application.
Until June 30, 2023, out-of-state providers can practice telehealth in Connecticut if they have a current license, certification, or registration in their own state or jurisdiction that is in good standing, the minimum professional liability insurance coverage that Connecticut law mandates, and deliver telehealth services according to their scope of practice and standard of care.
Connecticut also has professional requirements for telehealth providers, such as obtaining informed consent from patients, maintaining appropriate records, complying with confidentiality and privacy laws, and meeting professional credential and liability insurance requirements.
Any entity or healthcare provider in Connecticut engaging or contracting with a telehealth provider from another state, territory, or the District of Columbia must verify the provider’s credentials. This verification ensures that the telehealth provider is licensed, certified, or registered and is in good standing in their home state. Moreover, the provider must maintain professional liability insurance or another form of indemnity against professional malpractice at a level equal to or greater than the requirements for Connecticut healthcare providers.
You can use the online license search site, where you can enter the license number, name, or business name of the licensee. The system will provide information such as the original license date, license expiration date, license status, disciplinary action, etc.
Also, you can verify certified nurse aides in the Connecticut State Registry, where you can enter the social security number or certification number of the aide and get information such as certification status, expiration date, and abuse findings.
You can also view the physician profile online, where you can enter the name or license number of the physician and get information such as education, training, specialty board certification, hospital privileges, malpractice claims history, disciplinary actions, etc. You can also submit a written request for license verification to the Connecticut Medical Examining Board. This request should include the name and license number of the licensee, the complete name and mailing address to which the verification is to be mailed, and a $50.00 verification fee. This service may take up to 10 business days to process.
MedicalLicensing.com is your dependable partner for securing and renewing state medical licenses. We provide a suite of services including initial applications, renewals, verifications, and expedited licensing, all designed to meet your specific needs.
With a team that’s experienced in every nuance of state-specific licensing procedures, we ensure your application is accurate and punctually submitted. When you entrust your licensing needs to MedicalLicensing.com, you get to devote more time to patient care, while we handle the paperwork. Our mission is to ensure your swift journey to licensure.
Stop hunting state medical board for answers and see how our team can help you:
Check out individual state requirements by clicking the links down below.